Five Pillars of Islam

Ismail news 1,346 views 0

Every religion has its basis on which people live their lives. Like everyone else, Islam’s religion has five pillars that are based on a Muslim’s life and are required to follow them with the utmost sincerity, love, and obedience. If a believer wants to establish a strong and stable relationship with his Lord, he must observe these five pillars and implement them in life for God Almighty. The Five Pillars are also considered important acts of worship that develop the Islamic character and strengthen Islam. God Almighty has commanded Muslims to perform these duties and follow the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him) in how he performs his duties.

The Five Pillars are the core of the beliefs and practices of Islam that all Muslims must follow

The five pillars consist of:

1- Shahada
There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is the last prophet. Under this pillar, all other obligations include. Belief in God and in Muhammad (may God bless him and grant him peace) is the last prophet of Allah. One becomes a Muslim by reading this phrase with faith.

2- Prayer
Prayer is the second pillar of Islam. Being Muslims, we have to pray five times a day, and this is the source of the direct connection between God Almighty and His servant. Muslims pray five times facing Mecca: at Early morning, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and dark. These five times daily prayers contain verses from the Holy Qur’an, and they are said in Arabic, the language of revelation. However, personal supplications can be submitted in the person’s language at any time.

3- Zakat
Zakat is one of the pillars of Islam. Zakat reminds wealthy Muslims of their duty towards the poor and strengthens feelings of brotherhood among Muslims.

4- Fasting
Fasting is the fourth pillar of Islam, which is abstaining from eating, drinking, and intercourse from dawn until sunset to approach God Almighty. Obligatory everyday throughout the lunar month of Ramadan. During Ramadan, Muslims share a hunger and thirst for the needy to remind the religious duty to help those less fortunate.

5- Hajj
The fifth pillar of Islam is Hajj, and it is obligatory only for physically and financially able people. Nevertheless, more than two million people go to Mecca every year worldwide, providing a unique opportunity for those from different countries to meet each other. It makes them focus on God and know the importance of sacrifice.

Benefits of the five pillars of Islam

The first pillar of Islam has some of the benefits listed below:

1- This column reminds Muslims of their life goal, which is to worship God alone.

2- It produces a high degree of self-esteem and confidence while maintaining humility and humility.

3- It makes us surrender to the will of God Almighty and become His true servants

4- A person feels more liberated and free when submitting to the will and command of his Creator.

Prayer is the important and second pillar of Islam, and we mention its benefits:

1- Prayer enriches the soul with peace and contentment.

2- It purifies the heart from the effects of laziness and sin by providing a continuous opportunity for communication with God and repentance.

3- It illuminates our bodies and gives us positive energy.

4- Praying five times a day on its own time brings discipline and consistency into our life, which are essential qualities for a successful life.

5- Raising fraternity, equality, and humility among Muslims.

6- Through prayer, the believer acquires a spiritual awareness.


Zakat is the third pillar of Islam. Here we mention some of its benefits in a Muslim’s life:

1- Zakat teaches us to share what God Almighty has given us to take care of those less fortunate.

2- It also helps us avoid selfishness.

3- It also develops the poor’s personality by imparting a sense of solidarity with others in society.

4- He increases wealth and be blessed.

5- Zakat maintains a balance in society.

6- He mentions the blessings of God and urges to thank God Almighty.


the fourth pillar of Islam is fasting, and it has many benefits, which we mention as follows:

1- Fasting develops willpower and teaches patience.

2- Knowing God Almighty’s grace that surrounds us, but we do not give it importance.

3 – It purifies the soul, helps obedience to God Almighty by curbing desires, and promotes steadfastness.

4- Fasting is healthy and scientifically proven.

5- Fasting is an opportunity for complete devotion to God.


The fifth pillar of Islam is Hajj, and the following are its benefits:

1- Hajj emphasizes the Islamic characteristics of unity and equality among Muslims, and at the same time, declares the absolute unity of God.

2- Hajj is a heavy spiritual and emotional event that will remain a part of the believer throughout his life.

3- Hajj is a cultural journey for Muslims during which ethnic, gender, and economic differences are extinguished as a common occurrence among Muslims from many nations to worship God.

4- Hajj is the greatest challenge as God (Glory be to Him) takes the believer to the height of his power and sacrifice.

5- The largest sacrifice: setting the mood during the days of Hajj

You may also like...

0 thoughts on “Five Pillars of Islam”

Leave a Reply